Thousand Oaks Library
About The LibraryCatalogLocal News IndexSpecial CollectionsSupport OrganizationsKids' CornerTeenSpace
Historical PhotosCalendarResearchAsk A LibrarianPurchase SuggestionsMy AccountContact UsFeatured Lists
 
Databases from A to Z Take a Survey

The Thousand Oaks Library subscribes to a variety of highly specialized electronic databases. All of these resources may be used in the library, and many can be accessed from home via the Internet. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required when using these databases offsite. The web resources listed below are free Internet sites.

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home       Available only in library Available only in Library      Recommended Web Resources Web Resources
whitebar
A to Z Index : A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P R S T U V W
 
A
Available everywhere with a library card
Full-text articles from leading national newspapers including regional newspapers -- Thousand Oaks Star and the Daily News.  

Available only in library search tips
Genealogy resource  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Archives Unbound presents digital content from: "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California, 1867-1910"; and "Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927."  

Available everywhere with a library card
Automotive repair information, dating back to 1945.
B Back to the top
More than 440,000 biographies of authors, scientists, musicians, world leaders...

Available everywhere with a library card
Classic video storybooks for beginning readers...with read-aloud, educational games and activities.  

Available everywhere with a library card 
Select from 21 monthly newsletters to receive via email or RSS feeds.  
Available everywhere with a library card
Great resource for life-long learners with live one-on-one help on taking the GED, Microsoft Office Suite and preparing for the US Citizenship Test. Submit your resume online to have your resume critiqued and edited within 24 hours.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Grade 3 and up).  

Available everywhere with a library card
American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts.
Available everywhere with a library card
See Encyclopedia Britannica Online  
Business and Company Resource Center Available everywhere with a library card search tips
15 min. delayed stock reporting, financial analyst reports, market research reports, including public, private and international companies as well as extensive industry information with S.W.O.T. Analysis.  
C Back to the top
Career Cruising Available everywhere with a library card
Online English/Spanish career research and educational planning tool. Features multimedia presentations detailing hundreds of careers.  

Career Transitions Available everywhere with a library card 
Explore new career possibilities, assess interests and experience, identify ways to improve prospects, prepare for a job search, and search and apply for jobs.  

Children's Core Collection Available everywhere with a library card
Annotated list of children's materials from preschool through 6th grade.  

Credo Reference Available everywhere with a library card
Includes full-text and cross-reference access to hundreds of reference works and articles. Credo is a general reference resource covering every major subject including art, business, geography, history and more. Topic pages are good starting points for any research project.
 
D Back to the top
Dictionary of Literary Biography Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights.  
E Back to the top
Easy ESL Available everywhere with a library card
An online video learning environment for English as a Second Language learners with worksheets, teacher guides, quizzes, tests and supplemental materials.  

Ed2go Available everywhere with a library card
Ed2go offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  

eLibrary Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Books, magazines, pictures, maps audio/video, and transcripts.  

The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals.
For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus.
F Back to the top
Fiction Core Collection Available everywhere with a library card
Annotated list of fiction for adults.  

Foundation Center (Available only at  Grant R. Brimhall Library.  See a librarian for access.) Available only in library search tips
Grants and foundations  
G Back to the top
Gale Directory Library Available everywhere with a library card Guided Tour
Provides access to a variety of business related reference books electronically, such as: Ward's Business Directory, Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, Business Rankings Annual and Market Share Reporter.
 

Gale Educational and Homework Gateway Available everywhere with a library card
The Educational and Homework Gateway is a collection of online databases from a variety of publishers and selected electronic books (eBooks) drawn from the Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Gale Genealogy Connect features a wide range of comprehensive references and is powered by authoritative information from Genealogical.com.  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  

General OneFile (Gale) Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Full-text articles from magazines, journals and scholarly publications.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues with access to more than 150 issue portals, 160 country portals providing timely and authoritative resources.  
H Back to the top
Consumer health reference covering topics such as nutrition and medical tests, including access to PDR Family Guide to Prescription Drugs and PDR for Herbal Medicines.  

HeritageQuest Online Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Genealogy collection of family and local histories. 

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Offers "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby-enthusiast. Full text from the leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Birder's World, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, PaperWorks, Scrapbooking, Quilter's World, and many more.  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided in high-quality PDF files. Full-text access to major home improvement magazines and videos supplement the step-by-step project instructions.  

Available everywhere with a library card
See BrainFuse HelpNow!
I Back to the top
 
See General OneFile (Gale)  
J Back to the top
Access current job listings in the community. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more.
Live Job Coaching, Resume Assistance, and more... Live JobNow Coaches are available every day of the week, including weekends, from 1:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.  
L Back to the top
Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training.  

Consumer legal reference books from NOLO Press, including printable legal forms.

Include 3 reference series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism.  

Literature Resource Center Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Literary criticisms, literary biographies.  

LitFinder Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Full-text poems, short stories, with explanations and biographies.  

Local News Index Available everywhere with a library card 
Local newspapers indexed by Thousand Oaks Librarians, including obituaries  

Los Angeles Times (1881- current) Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Full-text articles published in L.A. Times beginning 1881 to current.  
M Back to the top
Middle School & Junior High Core Collection Available everywhere with a library card 
Annotated list of fiction and nonfiction with review sources for 5th through 9th grades.  

Morningstar Investment Research Center Available everywhere with a library card user's guide
Stock, mutual funds, company info, industry info...
Investing for the Long Run - A free guide with strategies and solutions to help you shape up your personal finances. 119 pages [PDF]
 
N Back to the top
New Book Alerts Available everywhere with a library card
A free online email notification service that showcases the newest titles purchase by the library.  

NewsBank (see America's Newspapers) Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
Full-text articles from leading national newspapers including regional newspapers -- Thousand Oaks Star and the Daily News  

Nolo Press (see Small Business Reference Center) or Legal Information Reference Center ) Available everywhere with a library card
Small Business Reference Center and Legal Information Referece Center provides access to selected popular titles published by the Nolo Press. For specific titles, please search the library's catalog.  

Novelist Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Reading suggestions with summaries.  

Reading suggestions for young readers.  
O Back to the top
Available everywhere with a library card
A new beta platform for downloadable audiobooks by Recorded Books, Inc., previously NetLibrary. Compatible with iPod and most media players. For details please visit Downloadable Digital Media page on the Library's web site.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Join one or more book clubs and receive 5-minute selection from a chapter of a book each day, Monday  through Friday.  

Opposing Viewpoints Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Full-text articles, including statistical charts, government data on social issues.  

Download free bestseller eBooks and eAudiobooks onto your computer, e-reader device or portable MP3 player, including iPods and iPads.
 
P Back to the top
Available everywhere with a library card
Learn Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, Ingles (ESL), and Mandarin (ESL).  
Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Antiques prices based on GoAntiques.com database; including full-text articles on pottery, furniture, toys and other antiques.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Los Angeles Times, Barron's and Wall Street Journal from January 2008 to current.

Public Library Core Collection Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Annotated list of fiction, nonfiction and reference works.  
R Back to the top
Reference USA Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
Business and residential telephone directory and basic company information.  
S Back to the top
Includes Decades series, Great Lives from History series, and Great Events from History.
Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments
Available everywhere with a library card
Selected titles recommended by library specialists for Grade 9-12 students.  

Provides up-to-date information on starting, operating and managing a business. Includes access to the popular NOLO Press business publications.

Math learning database appropriate for ages 6-14 with topics ranging from counting exercises to algebra. Difficulty of questions asked is interactively based upon demonstrated skill level of student.

Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Search all or selected databases including: Fiction Core Collection, Public Library Core Collection, Children's Core Collection, Middle School and Junior High Core Collection, and Senior High School Core Collection.  

Available everywhere with a library card
History, Science, Literature, and other core subjects are covered in millions of periodical and newspaper articles, primary source entries, multimedia records, and other materials.  
T Back to the top
Tax Forms & Publications - Federal Recommended Web Resources
Tax forms and publications from the IRS website.  

Tax Forms & Publications - State Recommended Web Resources
California tax forms and publications.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Self-help and research tool on teen health-related issues important to their well-being.  

Today's Science
Full-text articles with photos and graphics.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Advertising free online resources available to help students find scholarships and other forms of financial aid to help pay for a college education. TFS provides students with college admissions information, a career personality test, and detailed career information.  

Available everywhere with a library card
An online collection of animated, talking picture books.  
U  
U.S. History In Context Available everywhere with a library card
Access to media-rich content with full-text periodical articles and trusted primary and secondary sources covering the most-studied events, issues and current information related to U.S. History.  
W Back to the top
World Book Online Reference Center Available everywhere with a library card tutorial
All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia, including World Book Kids, World Book Student, World Book Advanced, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.  

World Book InfoFinder Available only in library tutorial
Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school aged students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects.  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Dictionary, quick facts, atlas, activities, encyclopedia articles for elementary school children.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Provides in-depth analysis, full-text periodical articles, reference works, primary documents, historical maps, atlases, video and audio selections; covering over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present.  

Back to the top