Thousand Oaks Library
About The LibraryCatalogLocal News IndexSpecial CollectionsSupport OrganizationsKids' CornerTeenSpace
Historical PhotosCalendarResearchAsk A LibrarianPurchase SuggestionsMy AccountContact UsFeatured Lists
 
Databases Header
Biography & History Take a Survey

A collection of specialized databases and web sites selected by Thousand Oaks Librarians.

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home        Available only in library Available only in Library       Recommended Web Resources Web Resources

Biography
Available anywhere with a library card search tips
More than 440,000 biographies of authors, scientists, musicians, world leaders...  
Available anywhere with a library card search tips
Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights.  
Available anywhere with a library card search tips
Biography by professions, look under topics and select biography
search tips
Biography by professions, look under topics and select biography  
The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals.
For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus.
Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  

Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators   

Full-text biographical articles on famous people...check out World Book Kids  
History
Available everywhere with a library card
Archives Unbound presents digital content from: "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California, 1867-1910"; and "Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927."  
American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts.
The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals.
For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus.
Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Offers authoritative full-text titles—from Gale and a host of premier publishing partners—within 15 subject areas for school age children all the way up to college level. Special features include: On-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Includes Decades series, Great Lives from History series, and Great Events from History.  

U.S. History In Context Available everywhere with a library card
Access to primary and secondary sources from trusted reference titles and periodicals, and reliable multimedia news sources.  
Available everywhere with a library card
Offer primary and secondary sources covers over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present.  

Available anywhere with a library card tutorial
All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia  
Local History
Available anywhere with a library card
Local history collection in the Thousand Oaks Library  

Available anywhere with a library card more info
Obituaries, index to local newspaper articles about the Conejo Valley  

Back to the top