Thousand Oaks Library
About The LibraryCatalogLocal News IndexSpecial CollectionsSupport OrganizationsKids' CornerTeenSpace
Historical PhotosCalendarResearchAsk A LibrarianPurchase SuggestionsMy AccountContact UsFeatured Lists
 
Databases Header
Education & Test Preparation Take a Survey

A collection of specialized databases and web sites selected by Thousand Oaks Librarians.

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home        Available only in library Available only in Library       Recommended Web Resources Web Resources

General Education Resources
Available everywhere with a library card
Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Grade 3 and up)  

Recommended Web Resources
Access to information on college application process, SAT Practice Tests and tools for college planning.  

Recommended Web Resources
Standards, testing, accountability, grants...  

Easy ESL Available everywhere with a library card
An online video learning environment for English as a Second Language learners with worksheets, teacher guides, quizzes, tests and supplemental materials.  

Ed2go Available everywhere with a library card
Ed2go offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.  

Education and Test Preparation MIT Open Courseware Recommended Web Resources
Access to free lecture notes, exams, and videos from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) reflects almost all the undergraduate and graduate subjects taught at MIT.
Recommended Web Resources
Education research indexed from 1966 to the present, abstracts and full-text articles  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Full-text access to company news and industry news  

Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills, occupational tests... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training.  

Recommended Web Resources
A federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.  
Online Test Preparation
Available everywhere with a library card
Offers additional study resources such as with Skills Building, Writing Lab and Test Center.  

Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills, occupational tests... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training.  
Scholoarship and Financial Aids
Gale Directory Library Available everywhere with a library card Guided Tour
Provides access to a variety of business related reference books electronically, such as: Ward's Business Directory, Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, Business Rankings Annual and Market Share Reporter.
 

Available everywhere with a library card
Advertising free online resources available to help students find scholarships and other forms of financial aid to help pay for a college education. TFS provides students with college admissions information, a career personality test, and detailed career information.  

Back to the top