? Thousand Oaks Library Research by Topic - Literature, Books and Reading
Thousand Oaks Library
About The LibraryCatalogLocal News IndexSpecial CollectionsSupport OrganizationsKids' CornerTeenSpace
Historical PhotosCalendarResearchAsk A LibrarianPurchase SuggestionsMy AccountContact UsFeatured Lists
 
Databases Header
Literature, Books and Reading Take a Survey

A collection of specialized databases and web sites selected by Thousand Oaks Librarians.

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home        Available only in library Available only in Library       Recommended Web Resources Web Resources

General Literature Research
Available anywhere with a library card search tips
Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights.  
Full-text articles from magazines, journal and scholarly publications  
Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators   
Literary Criticism
Include 3 reference series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism.  
Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline  

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Thousands of full-text poems, short stories (including explanations and biographies) and full-text essays and discursive writing  
eBooks
Available everywhere with a library card
A new beta platform for downloadable audiobooks by Recorded Books, Inc., previously NetLibrary. Compatible with iPod and most media players. For details please visit Downloadable Digital Media page on the Library's web site.  

Download free bestseller eBooks and eAudiobooks onto your computer, e-reader device or portable MP3 player, including iPods and iPads.
 
Recommended Web Resources
30,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader  
Available everywhere with a library card
An online collection of animated, talking picture books  
Reading Resources
Available everywhere with a library card
Classic video storybooks for beginning readers...with read-aloud, educational games and activities  

Available everywhere with a library card
Select from 21 monthly newsletters to receive via email or RSS feeds  
Recommended Web Resources
Access booklists and reviews  

Recommended Web Resources
A list of web sites to find public domain ebooks, images and eaudiobooks  
Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Find read-alikes, similar authors for young readers  

New Book Alerts Available everywhere with a library card
A free online email notification service that showcases the newest titles purchase by the library.  

NoveList Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Online tool for finding fiction by plot, read-alikes, similar authors, includes feature articles and reviews, and book discussion guides.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Join one or more book clubs and receive 5-minute selection from a chapter of a book each day, Monday  through Friday.  
Recommended Web Resources
An index of free online texts in all languages,  both general and specialized  
Look here for ideas of discussible books and discussion topics for your reading group  

Available everywhere with a library card
Search all or selected databases including: Fiction Core Collection, Public Library Core Collection, Children's Core Collection, Middle School and Junior High Core Collection, and Senior High School Core Collection.  

Back to the top