Thousand Oaks Library
About The LibraryCatalogLocal News IndexSpecial CollectionsSupport OrganizationsKids' CornerTeenSpace
Historical PhotosCalendarResearchAsk A LibrarianPurchase SuggestionsMy AccountContact UsFeatured Lists
 
Databases Header
Science Take a Survey

A collection of specialized databases and web sites selected by Thousand Oaks Librarians.

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home        Available only in library Available only in Library       Recommended Web Resources Web Resources

Science
Available everywhere with a library card
Includes full-text and cross-reference access to hundreds of reference works and articles. Credo is a general reference resource covering every major subject including art, business, geography, history and more. Topic pages are good starting points for any research project.
 

Available everywhere with a library card search tips
Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  

Available everywhere with a library card
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues with access to more than 150 issue portals, 160 country portals providing timely and authoritative resources.  

Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments.  

Recommended Web Resources
Internet Public Library is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment with thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals involved.  

Recommended Web Resources
A gateway to 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.  

Full-text articles with photos, graphics and bibliographies for middle school students through college.  

Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects.